Five Degrees of Initiative

This is a helpful concept I was introduced to for improving how to delegate tasks and responsibilities. These are levels of authority you give to others when delegating.

The Five Degrees of Initiative

  1. Wait until you are told.
  2. Ask what to do.
  3. Research, recommend, then take action.
  4. Act, then inform promptly.
  5. Act independently, report periodically.

These are ranked from the lowest to the highest level of initiative.

If you want to learn more about this concept, I recommend reading The Five Levels of Delegation by Michael Hyatt and Who’s Got the Monkey by Harvard Business Review.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.